Faro Algarve (FAO) Airport

Faro Algarve FAO Airport Overview

Faro Algarve International Airport FAO serves the beautiful Algarve of southern Portugal, and the Spanish province of Huelva It has long been a point of entry for tourists, visiting Algarve's resorts and beaches - among them Vilamoura and Vale del Lobo, however, in recent years, a large segment of its air traffic is derived from business travelers located throughout the southwestern peninsula of Iberia, and the Airport has become one of Europe’s leading Airports.
Faro is a city in the Faro District of the Algarve region & is the southernmost city of continental Portugal. It is the seat of the Faro District and capital of the Algarve region. (Both Algarve &  Faro district cover the same territory.)

The toll-free number for the Airport information service is 800 201 201.

FAO Airport is located 7 km west of Faro, and near Monte Negro, and can be accessed from A22 ‘Via do Infante’, N 125-10, or Routes IC-1, N2, N120 & N122.

With an estimated 5.7 million passengers annually, Faro Airport is Portugal’s second international airport, hub to Ryanair, and served by a multitude of domestic and international, regular and low-cost airlines offering direct flights to a host of European cities and the Azores Islands, with connections around the globe, as well as by seasonal charters.

NOTE: Minimum check-in times for the following flights:  inside Schengen zone 90 minutes; non-Schengen inside Europe 2 hours; intercontinental destinations 3 hours.
The Main passenger terminal at Faro International Airport:  Internet access is available throughout the terminal. 
     The ground level is divided into a public area which houses:
  (a) in the center the meeting point, & Information counter,
  (b) at its west side rental car counters, food & drink, a bank, currency exchange, Immigration, Customs & Police; beyond Customs are the baggage carousels; and
  (c) at its east side  check-in counters 1-26 & 27-62.  
After security check you find food & drink, retail concessions, Information counter and access to the gate area:
    The Gate Area is divided into three areas:  (from west to east):
  (a) Non-Schengen gates D21-D31;
  (b)Schengen gates C11-C20 & non-Schengen  D11-020; and
  (c) Schengen gates C1-10. 

Book Travel

Google Plus One